Reset Your Life with 10 Tips

You know when you’re stuck on a computer issue at work and the first thing IT asks is, “Did you reset it?” Yeah, we need that for real life.

Some days we feel like we’re on top of the world, and others days (or weeks, even years) we feel like we’re not moving forward. Progress is stagnant. We’re stuck and desperately need to restart on a clean slate. It may take hitting rock bottom before realizing we need a reboot, and other times we just need that jolt of energy because life is steadily mediocre at best.

“Blah” probably best describes my overall mood lately. I don’t feel progress towards my goals and it’s leaving me unmotivated. I’ve unfortunately let this one sucky situation dampen my spirits. When I’m unaligned or “off”, feelings of insecurity, anxiety (I use that term very loosely here), moodiness, and irritation arise. I am anywhere but in the present moment, instead only focusing on the past and future. I don’t like the person I become. This past week I told myself that enough is enough *queue dramatic music*. I want to go back to my most authentic self where I can easily be joyful, loving, productive, creative, and compassionate.

If you’ve ever been in a rut like me, here are 10 tips to get back on and running:

It’s just me, myself & I

Sometimes you just need quiet time alone for you and your thoughts. Maybe it’s taking one day off from work or an entire week. Maybe it’s planning a staycation or renting a cabin in Montana. Whatever it is, remove yourself from email, social media, texting, and any other distraction. We live in a time of so much stimulation that it’s important to occasionally retreat. Be selfish and gift yourself that space to find clarity.

You raise me up

Turn to inspiring podcasts, YouTube videos, or books to lift your spirits. They can open us to new perspectives that spark curiosity and understanding. Positive words of influence are necessary to help us push through. Two of my favorite self-help books include Big Magic by Elizabeth Gilbert and You Are a Badass by Jenn Sincero. I also love hearing interviews with Eckhart Tolle, Wayne Dyer, and anything by Oprah (Super Soul Sundays!!)

‘Cause he’s my beesstt friend!

As self-sufficient and introverted some of us may be, we need others to thrive. Turn to your close friends for support during this rough time. It’s wonderful how healing conversation, laughter, and the pure company of others can be. Plan a dinner date with a girlfriend or phone call if you guys are far. I always leave restored knowing I can lean on someone.

Waayy up I feel blessed

It can be hard to live in the present moment when things aren’t going as planned. Why face reality when you can be day dreaming about how things could have been done differently in the past or how you hope better days will come in the future? I can get so wrapped up in those non-serving thoughts that I take for granted the blessings right in front of me. Pause and remember how blessed you are. Make a point to consistently write down things you’re grateful for. Maybe it’s waking up safe in your comfy bed, getting an awesome parking spot, or hugging someone you love today. Check out my blog post about writing a good gratitude journal here (:

So fresh and so clean clean 

Clear space = clear mind. Cluttered space = cluttered mind. Your living space is a reflection of you. Create a fresh, stress-free atmosphere where you can feel at ease. Set aside a day to purge unused clothes, makeup, furniture, and other miscellaneous items. Maintain a tidy home by buying less junk. Don’t give into the devil that is the display at the checkout aisles of TJ Maxx.

OMmmMm..

Meditation helps you connect with the Source Energy, Universe, God, or whatever you choose to call it. Even if everything’s up in flames around you, there’s peace when you’re in alignment with the higher power. Through silence you have a clearer vision of who you are and who you want to become. There are apps like Headspace and Calm that provide guided meditations to help ease beginners into the practice.

I workout!

Release those endorphins to boost your energy! Get moving in any way that makes you feel GOOD! Weight lifting? Dancing? Swimming? Do what makes you feel like a badass. That feeling of accomplishment will get you in the rhythm of productivity.

Move B*itch, get out the way, (please & thank you)

It sounds simple, but only make time for things you give a damn about. Respectfully say no to soul-wrenching activities like that farewell happy hour for the co-worker you don’t even talk to. Instead, make time for things you enjoy. It’s a mind-blowing idea, I know. Pencil in a solo coffee date with yourself or workout class you’ve been wanting to try. Declutter your calendar from things that suck your energy.

Ch-ch-ch-ch-changes

And sometimes things are so shitty we need to take extreme measures. Maybe that means quitting your job, leaving a relationship, or moving to another country. The thought will be so terrifying that you’ll want to puke, but it’s worth it. Free yourself from toxic and suffocating situations.

Don’t Stop Believin’

Whatever happens, don’t lose hope in a better tomorrow. This is just a very brief time in your life where things aren’t all rainbows and unicorns. Sucky days are inevitable. Make an conscious decision that tomorrow will be a brighter day and your actions will follow.

Everything is temporary; nothing is forever. Sometimes a reboot is necessary in the process of creating your dream life ✨ Always take agency of your destiny.

Hope you all have a great weekend ❤

Love,
Jules

2 thoughts on “Reset Your Life with 10 Tips

Leave a comment