Why I Yoga

When I was first introduced to yoga at the beginning of college, I saw it as a way to workout and nothing more. I left my first class feeling achey, confused (like who thought it was a good idea to balance on their triceps..?), and not “zen” as everyone makes it out to be. Even though I didn’t really enjoy it, I kept on taking classes off and on because I always heard about how “good” it was for us. With a more consistent practice in the past 10 months, I’ve grasped something invaluable: to live with mindfulness.

yoga

With each conscious and deliberate inhale and exhale, we become that much more mindful and in control. I’ve learned to become present by matching movement to breath.

There tends to be two type of people in this world: one who is running around like a chicken with its head cut off or one who is living out a mundane routine everyday. I fall more on the latter. It can suck to be a creature of habit because you start to look at life through dull eyes. But yoga has taught me to be still, acknowledge, and appreciate. Even if it’s for a second, stop to genuinely enjoy the beautiful crisp autumn air. Stop to watch the squirrels playfully chase each other around a tree. Stop mindlessly scrolling through your phone while waiting in line and compliment the stranger behind you. Continuously be in awe of the seemingly “little” things in life because only then will you begin to see the “bigger” blessings appear.

We are often focused on figuring out the future or dwelling on the past that we don’t recognize the precious blessings in front of us at this very moment.

Just remember – What’s in the past has passed. What’s in the future is written. Let go of things you can’t control. Have unwavering faith that the universe will always be there to support and guide you through this crazy ride called life, as long as you call onto it. As Paulo Coelho said, “When you want something, all the universe conspires in helping you to achieve it.”

So many jumbled thoughts that I have in my head, so apologies if this post sounds like nonsense. If you liked this post, make sure to check out my 30 Days of Yoga: What I’ve Learned post!

Happy Sunday! Hope we all have a productive yet mindful week ahead.

One thought on “Why I Yoga

Leave a Reply

