Skincare Routine for Acne-Prone Skin

I will forever be in pursuit of beautiful skin. Our skin is truly the foundation of our entire face. Without a great base, all the makeup in the world can’t help us look beautiful AND feel comfortable & confident. I have combo and acne-prone skin, so I can definitely empathize with skin struggles. I’ve used so many products throughout the years that I want to share my current routine using my absolute favorite products. By no means is my skin perfect or this will work for everyone, but just sharing my experience 🙂

Before I share the products, I want to talk about the foods we put in our mouths. Without a balanced diet, we can’t have beautiful skin. Eat more foods rich in alkaline like greens and fruits and less acidic foods like meat and alcohol. And most importantly – increase your water intake! It flushes our system and leaves our skin glowing. It’s recommended to drink at least 2.5-3 liters a day. I personally drink about 4-5 since I’m apparently a walking fish. Now onto the products –

img_9707
Cleanser
I’ve used Purity off and on for many years now. It is super gentle (perfect for sensitive skin) and takes off every inch of makeup. There’s not a single bad thing I can say about this cleanser. It also has a nice, subtle herbal-ish scent. You can buy Purity at most beauty stores like Sephora and Ulta.

img_9682

 

 

 

 

Cleanser
I have acne-prone skin so when it’s “that time of the month”, my skin totally freaks out. Every single month. I use this AcneFree Purifying Cleanser with benzoyl peroxide to control my acne. This product WORKS. I can see a clear difference within 24 hours and it prevents future pimples from coming since it has slow releasing benzoyl peroxide.

This cleanser is apart of a 3-step system, but I don’t use the toner and moisturizer since it’s too drying for me. Next time I’ll buy just the cleanser. You can find AcneFree at most drugstores including Target and CVS.

img_9686

Moisturizer
I’ve been using coconut oil religiously all day, err day for the past 4+ years. I’m convinced I have coco oil running through my veins by now. Right after I wash my face, I lather this on my skin for a good 30 seconds. I then give a quick rinse and gently pat my skin dry. I like to keep a thin layer of the oil on my skin to act as my moisturizer. I do this every morning and night. Coconut oil is perfect for any skin type since it’s so gentle and incredibly moisturizing. You can find coconut oil just about anywhere nowadays. Try and pick up an extra virgin and organic one if possible.

img_9683


Moisturizer
After I have a nice thin layer of coco oil on my skin, I use a pump or two of this Aura Cacia Rosehip Oil. You can Google the benefits of rosehip oil, but I’ve personally seen my skin tone appear more even. I was sold when I read that Miranda Kerr promised by this oil. I use this every night. This little bottle is about $8 and lasts 4-6 months. You can find them at most health food stores including Whole Foods.

img_9688

 

 

Moisturizer
Colder weather = drier skin, so I’ve been reaching for products super rich and moisturizing. Weleda White Mallow Face Cream is perfect. I bought this product on a whim last year after my skin turned into leather from using an incredibly harsh product that completely dried my face out. Although this is geared towards people with eczema, I haven’t found any issues since it’s so gentle and made with 97% organic products. So if you battle with eczema, this is perfect for you. If you don’t battle with eczema but want baby soft skin, this is also perfect you. I apply this at night before bed and in the morning under my makeup. It comes out thick, but so easy to blend in and doesn’t feel thick on your skin. This is about $14 and I found mine at a local health food store (Mom’s Organic Market). You can also order online.

img_9685

Mask
Masks are so important! They’re basically nutrient-densed food for your skin. I’ve been using Algenist Algae Brightening Mask since May and love it. It leaves my skin appear more radiant and glowing while leaving it baby soft. It completely improves my overall complexion and texture. I use this mask about once a week. Although it’s a little pricy ($62), a little goes a long way. I bought it almost 6 months ago and only used half the product. Way more bang for your buck than buying individual sheet masks for $8. I picked this up at Sephora.

img_9684


Spot Treatment
I want to sneak this guy in here, too. Tea Tree Oil is great for acne since it basically dries the pimple out. I use this oil as a spot treatment at night and my pimple is usually improved by the next morning. I picked this up from Trader Joe’s for like $3 or something super cheap.

img_9706

 

 

 

 

 

Cleansing Brush
I think anyone who appreciates good skin considers the Clarisonic a must-have. I mean, what was life like before we discovered this? I’ve been using my Clarisonic for about 5+ years now and never looking back. This guy thoroughly cleanses the skin far better than our hands can do. It scrubs away dead skin cells revealing better complexion and texture. Your skincare products will also absorb better for more efficiency. I use my Clarisonic about every 2 days since I don’t want to over exfoliate, but find what works for you!

 

Now awkward selfies –

Hashtag no filter so you can see the imperfections, too!

Comment below any skincare products you recommend 🙂 I love hearing what people are raving about.

 

2 thoughts on “Skincare Routine for Acne-Prone Skin

Leave a Reply

